Mater Research Postgraduate students excel at Three Minute Thesis competition

Thursday 21 June 2018

Postgraduate research students at Mater recently presented their research projects at the Mater Research Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition, before a panel of judges and an audience of both specialists and non-specialists.

 Thirteen students presented on a range of topics, from jumping genes and childhood anxiety to diabetic nephropathy.

 The 3MT event challenges students to present their research in a concise, entertaining way that is appropriate to an audience outside of their field. Students are allowed only one PowerPoint slide as a resource which, combined with the short timeframe, cultivates students’ ability to communicate the essence of their projects.

 The presentations were assessed by three judges—Dr Bec Jenkinson, Dr Kavita Bisht and Dr Kelly Masterman—who awarded first prize to Lena Batoon in the Higher Degree Research (HDR) category and Melinda McBryde in the Honours category.

 Lena’s presentation, ‘It's going tibia alright’ and Melinda’s presentation, ‘Born Too Soon: What Happens When Premature Kids Start School?’ wowed the judges, earning the students first place and a $200 gift card each.

 Mater Student Research Committee member Dr Mitchell Sullivan said the overall standard of presentations was extremely high and the winners well deserving.

“The standard of presentations was very high, resulting in fierce competition. The winners, Lena and Melinda, gave extremely interesting and clear presentations,” Dr Sullivan said.

 Runner up in the HDR category was Mia McLean, for her presentation, ‘Developing a comprehensive model of the origins of childhood anxiety: The road to early intervention’. Runner up in the Honours category was Sophie Young for her presentation, ‘The search for a magic pill: sweet treat-ments for honeyed hearts and candied kidneys’.

The audience at the 3MT event voted for the People’s Choice award, which went to Ashley Meakin for his ‘Size Matters’ presentation in the HDR category and to Sophie Young again in the Honours category.

 Thank you to the judging panel for volunteering your time and to everyone who attended and supported this great event. Congratulations to the winners and well done to all students who presented at the event.